Introduction to the Forum Romanum

The Forum Romanum was the central square in ancient Rome. Its ancient history stretches from the 7th/6th century B.C. to Late Antiquity. Only starting in the 6th century A.D. did the square and the surroundings begin to fall into ruin (see...

Historical orientation

For nearly a millennium the Forum Romanum constituted the public and political center of ancient Rome. During this time, the city of Rome witnessed a turbulent history – and it is this history that has also been recorded on the Forum Romanum....

Topographical orientation

The Forum Romanum lies in the valley between two of the famous seven hills of Rome: The Capitoline Hill in the west, where the temple of the highest Roman god – Iupiter Optimus Maximus – once stood, and the Palatine Hill in the east, where...

Exploration of the Forum Romanum

In the Middle Ages, when the Forum Romanum had already lost its function as a political space, many of the buildings and monuments fell into ruin and were gradually buried beneath the ground. However, some were preserved, because they were put to a...

The present-day Forum Romanum

In modern-day Rome the Forum Romanum consists of a picturesque landscape of ruins, one of a number of different attractions that Italy's capital holds in store for tourists. One might enter the ruin site and be gripped by a feeling of awe of walking...

Einführung in das Forum Romanum

Das Forum Romanum war die zentrale Platzanlage des antiken Rom. Seine antike Geschichte reichte vom 7./6. Jh. v.Chr. bis in die Spätantike, und erst im 6. Jh. n.Chr. begann die Platzanlage und die sie umgebende Bebauung zu verfallen (s. historische...

Historische Orientierung

Das Forum Romanum bildete über ein Jahrtausend lang das öffentlich-politische Zentrum des antiken Roms. In dieser Zeit durchlebte die Stadt Rom eine bewegte Geschichte – und diese Geschichte ist auch in das Forum Romanum eingeschrieben. Wie die...

Topographische Orientierung

Das Forum Romanum liegt in einer Talsenke zwischen zwei der berühmten sieben Hügeln Roms: dem Capitol im Westen, wo einst der Tempel des obersten römischen Gottes, Iuppiter Optimus Maximus, stand, sowie dem Palatin im Osten, einst Sitz der...

Die Erforschung des Forums

Im Laufe des Mittelalters, als das Forum Romanum seine politische Funktion bereits eingebüßt hatte, setzte ein Prozess des Verfalls ein, bei dem die Gebäude und Monumente sukzessive verschüttet wurden, es sei denn, sie erfuhren eine Umwidmung...

Das Forum Romanum für die Gegenwart

Im heutigen Rom ist das Forum Romanum vor allem eine pittoreske Ruinenlandschaft, die zu den zahlreichen Attraktionen gehört, die die Hauptstadt Italiens für ihre Touristen bereithält. Mancher betritt die Ruine und wiegt sich im Gefühl, auf den...

'