digitales forum romanum

deutsch – english – italiano

Research and teaching project of the Winckelmann-Institut of the Humboldt-Universität of Berlin in cooperation with the Excellence Cluster TOPOI

 

The Ancient Forum Romanum is one of the main attractions during any visit to Rome. Every day hundreds of visitors explore the Forum Romanum and are captivated by the atmospheric ruins and the historical significance of this place: Here once lay the pubic and political centre of the metropolis, here policies were crafted and history was made. Nowadays the history of Ancient Rome is still pulsating throughout this place with extraordinary intensity. However, when one is faced with the idyllic ruins of the excavation site at this present day, it is difficult to develop an adequate understanding of this Ancient square: How did the Ancients perceive it, how did it present itself as the stage of political action and societal communication, and how exactly did it function as the public centre of this unique Ancient metropolis? These are the questions that the excavation site often leaves its visitors with. And it is these questions that Classical Archaeology has been trying to answer for a long time with the aid of reconstructions.

 

As a research & teaching project, “digital Forum Romanum” aims to reconstruct the lost visual appearance of the Ancient Forum Romanum through a digital model – and especially: to make it understandable again. Since 2011 teachers as well as students of the Winckelmann-Institut of the Humboldt University of Berlin have been working on a scholarly-critical 3D-reconstruction of the Forum in cooperation with the excellence cluster TOPOI: The Formation and Transformation of Space and Knowledge in Ancient Civilizations and the “Architekturreferat” of the German Archaeological Institute Berlin. A particular emphasis has been placed upon the transformation of the Forum, which had repeatedly been reshaped and reinvented as a space of public communication and political representation. Only a renewed visualisation of this process of constant alteration can make it possible for us to comprehend the Forum’s historical significance and to understand the excavation site – today a motionless ruin – from a modern perspective.

 

The digital reconstruction of the Forum is based upon intensive scholarly research and examination of all the available evidence and data (material remains on site, excavation records as well as literary, epigraphical and pictorial sources). The work on the reconstructions of individual buildings or topographical relations frequently yielded new insights, new answers to existing problems and raised issues that have hitherto been sparsely observed. Thus the model does not only present a visualisation of the current state of our knowledge; it also aims to identify open questions and problems so that the scholarly discussion associated with the Forum Romanum (which has been strongly advanced by the model) can come to the fore.

 

This dynamic knowledge is supposed to serve multiple interests within research and teaching and allow for a critical examination of the Forum Romanum and its excavation site in Rome. Accordingly, it will be possible to access the results of our project freely on the internet at all times. Another way we intend to share this internet platform with the public will be to open it up to extensions and revisions thorugh outsiders. Research on the Forum Romanum will never end. In the time to come the digital Forum model will be able to incorporate the expected extensions and revisions; ideally it will develop into an international platform, which facilitates exchange and open discussion about the reconstruction of the Forum and Romanum, and situate the work that was initiated by the projected within a more broad scholarly scope.

 

(SM)

 

 

Help

In order to successfully and purposely navigate through the different pages that our website offers, it may be helpful to take a look at this little guide that we have provided:   How do I navigate through the pages of the “digital Forum...

Search

...

Forum Romanum

The Forum Romanum was the central public square in ancient Rome and appears nowadays as a picturesque landscape of ruins that lies at the heart of the modern city. But what is it about the Forum Romanum that gives it its significance and makes its...

Project

A number of digital reconstructions of the Forum Romanum already exist, which leads to several questions that will be answered in this section. What is the unique profile of “digital Forum Romanum”? How does it differ from preexisting models and...

Resources

The “digital Forum Romanum” was based on meticulous scholarly work and research. Just as the final 3D-reconstructions will be available online, we are also planning on making the scholarly groundwork accessible, for which we envisage an open...

Multimedia

The 3D-model of the “digital Forum Romanum” enables us to gain direct insights into the perception and usage of the Forum. This allows us to give others a better understanding of the historical experience of perceiving this square through the...

Kontakt

Contact details, account details for donations, impressum – all this can be found here. You are welcome to send us your questions, comments and suggestions. Here we also list the terms under which the images and texts of the “digital Forum...

Updates

All news related to the work on the “digital Forum Romanum” can be found on this page: For example, if new eras or buildings are unlocked, if new publications are made available, or if new images of the model, films or animations are uploaded....

Phase L_Viewpoint BeckWest19


digitales forum romanum

deutsch – english – italiano

Forschungs- & Lehrprojekt des Winckelmann-Instituts der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
in Kooperation mit dem Exzellenzcluster TOPOI

 

Das antike Forum Romanum gehört zu den Hauptattraktionen eines jeden Rombesuchs. Täglich erkunden hunderte von Besuchern das Forum Romanum und lassen sich von der stimmungsvollen Ruinenlandschaft und der historischen Bedeutung dieses Ortes faszinieren: Hier lag das öffentlich-politische Zentrum der antiken Metropole, hier wurde Politik gemacht und Geschichte geschrieben – und entsprechend pulsiert hier für uns heutzutage die Vergangenheit des antiken Roms in einer ganz besonderen Intensität. Doch angesichts der idyllischen Ruinenlandschaft, als welche sich die Ausgrabungsstätte heutzutage präsentiert, fällt es schwer, sich ein wirkliches Bild von diesem antiken Platz zu machen: Wie erlebten ihn die Menschen in der Antike, wie präsentierte er sich als Bühne des politischen Handelns und der gesellschaftlichen Kommunikation, und wie funktionierte er überhaupt konkret als öffentliches Zentrum dieser einzigartigen antiken Metropole? Es sind diese Fragen, mit denen die Ausgrabungsstätte ihre Besucher oftmals alleine lässt. Und es sind die Fragen, auf die wiederum die Klassische Archäologie seit jeher mit Hilfe von Rekonstruktionen Antworten zu geben versucht.

 

Das Forschungs- & Lehrprojekt ‚digitales forum romanum‘ verfolgt das Ziel, mit Hilfe eines digitalen Modells das verlorene Erscheinungsbild des antiken Forum Romanum wieder zu rekonstruieren – und vor allem: es auch wieder verstehbar zu machen. Seit 2011 arbeiten Lehrende und Studierende des Winckelmann-Instituts der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin in Kooperation mit dem Exzellenzcluster TOPOI: The Formation and Transformation of Space and Knowledge in Ancient Civilizations und dem Architekturreferat des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts Berlin an einer wissenschaftlich-kritischen 3D-Rekonstruktion des Forums. Der Akzent liegt dabei vor allem auf dem Wandel des Forums, welches im Laufe der Zeit immer wieder umgestaltet und als Raum öffentlicher Kommunikation und politischer Repräsentation neu erfunden wurde. Nur die Vergegenwärtigung dieser konstanten Veränderung eröffnet die Chance, das Forum in seiner historischen Bedeutung zu verstehen, und sich damit die zur Ruine erstarrte heutige Ausgrabungsstätte zu erschließen.

 

Die digitale Rekonstruktion des Forums basiert auf einer intensiven wissenschaftlichen Recherche und Überprüfung aller uns zugänglichen Quellen und Daten (Baubefunde vor Ort, Grabungsdokumentationen, literarische, epigraphische und bildliche Zeugnisse). Bei der Arbeit an den Rekonstruktionen einzelner Bauten oder topographischer Zusammenhänge ergaben sich ihrerseits aber auch immer wieder neue Erkenntnisse, konnten neue Antworten auf bestehende Probleme oder aber auch bislang wenig bekannte Probleme aufgezeigt werden. Das Modell versteht sich somit nicht nur als Visualisierung des derzeitigen Wissensstands. Vielmehr sollen auch offene Fragen und Probleme markiert werden – als Vergegenwärtigung der (durch das Modell aktiv beförderten) Forschungsdiskussion zum Forum Romanum.

 

Dieses dynamische Wissen soll für verschiedene Interessen nutzbar gemacht werden: für die Forschung, für die Lehre, für die interessierte Auseinandersetzung mit dem Forum Romanum und seiner Ausgrabungsstätte in Rom. Entsprechend sollen die Ergebnisse unseres Projektes im Internet stets frei zugänglich sein. Offen wollen wir diese Internetplattform aber in einer anderen Hinsicht gestalten, indem sie nämlich für Erweiterungen und Korrekturen von außen ebenfalls zugänglich sein soll. Denn die Forschung zum Forum Romanum wird nie zum Abschluss kommen. Auf die zu erwartenden Erweiterungen und Korrekturen soll das digitale Forumsmodell auch künftig reagieren können – und sich im Idealfall zu einer internationalen Plattform entwickeln, die dem Austausch und der offenen Diskussion um die Rekonstruktion des Forum Romanum dient und somit die durch das Projekt begonnene Arbeit in einem weiteren wissenschaftlichen Horizont fortführt.

(SM)

 

Flyer: Projektvorstellung des digitalen forum romanum

Hilfe

Damit Sie sich zielsicher und erfolgreich durch das vielfältige Angebot unserer Website bewegen können, geben wir Ihnen im Folgenden eine kleine Navigationsanleitung durch unsere Website an die Hand:   Wie navigiere ich auf den Seiten des...

Suche

...

Forum Romanum

Das Forum Romanum war der zentrale öffentliche Platz im antiken Rom und präsentiert sich heute als pittoreske Ruinenlandschaft im Zentrum der modernen Stadt. Doch worin besteht die besondere Bedeutung des Forum Romanum, die dessen digitale...

Projekt

Digitale Rekonstruktionen des Forum Romanum gibt es bereits einige. Was das besondere Profil des ‚digitalen forum romanum‘ ist, worin es sich von bestehenden Modellen unterscheidet und auszeichnet, auf welchen Grundlagen –...

Ressourcen

Das ‚digitale forum romanum‘ ist auf der Basis sorgfältiger wissenschaftlicher Recherche und Forschung entstanden. Ebenso wie die eigentlichen 3D-Rekonstruktionen soll auch deren wissenschaftliche Grundlage einsehbar sein. Dafür ist eine...

Multimedia

Das 3D-Modell des ‚digitalen forum romanum‘ erlaubt es, unmittelbare Einblicke in das Erleben und Benutzen des Forums zu rekonstruieren – und uns damit auch dem historischen Wahrnehmen dieser Platzanlage durch die Menschen der römischen...

Kontakt

Ansprechpersonen, Kontaktdaten, Spendenkonto, Impressum – all dies findet sich hier. Sie sind herzlich eingeladen, uns Ihre Fragen, Kommentare und Anregungen zukommen zu lassen. Ebenso sind hier die Modalitäten beschrieben, was die freie...

Updates

Alle Neuigkeiten, die die Arbeit im ‚digitalen forum romanum‘ betreffen, finden Sie hier angezeigt: etwa wenn neue Epochen oder neue Gebäude freigeschaltet werden, wenn neue Publikationen veröffentlicht werden, wenn neue Modellbilder, Filme...

'